#JunkyardThursdays w/ Mark Chappelle :: Nothing Can Come Between Us

We’re still together. But sitting at opposite ends of the couch though. Not saying much to each other as we go in, out, and about the house. Sharing the same bed, but not touching. Going to church together, but not making eye contact. The honeymoon phase is over. Being together doesn’t give us the tingles anymore.

It’s been some time since we were on the same page. We’ve each made independent decisions that met with disagreement from the other. Some days I wonder exactly who I married. I’m not as attracted as I was at the start. I roll my eyes a lot now. I sigh hard and breathe out troubled subtext until our living space smells of it. One might say our relationship is strained.

When the dissonance between us gets so loud that I can’t stand to be in the same room, I wonder where we went wrong. People said we would always be together. We started off so strong. Couples have said they wanted to be like us. Yet now there’ve been several months though—I don’t know how far back to start counting—when I have not been the happiest in this relationship. It’s not looking so great right now.

But I remember our song:

“In the middle of the madness
When the time is running out and you’re left alone
All I want is you to know that
It’s strong still
Can’t pull us apart
Nothing can come
Between us
Nothing can pull us apart… can come between us.”

 [youtube http://youtu.be/_oVI0GW-Xd4&rel=0]

CONTINUE READING AT JUNKYARDSALVATION.COM

Mark Chappelle is a musician, singer, graphic artist, writer, composer, & balance artist who intends to push all of these abilities to their limits in his lifetime. Find his single, “It’s Heaven”, on iTunes, Amazon, or CD Baby. | Twitter: @markchappelle

Your Thoughts Here

